Opening Hours: Wednesday through Monday 12–5pm | Closed Tuesday

En Casa con LA Plaza Sessions 2021

Watch 2020’s En Casa con LA Plaza Sessions Here

Upcoming En Casa con LA Plaza Sessions

Funding has been provided by California Humanities and the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH)
as part of the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021.

Making Music at The Breakfast Table with Jesus Martinez, Decibel Studios | November 19

Pescadillas con una Salsa Verde Cruda con Chef Luis Cardenas, Concha Azul, November 15

Dan Guerrero Happy Hour with guest Richard Saldivar | November 13

Remembering Our Loved Ones & Heroes: Films by Students of Thomas Starr King Middle School with Albert Celis, Social Studies Teacher  | Tuesday, November 9 | 7pm PST

Gorditas with Butternut Squash with Marlene Aguilar, IREKUARHIKUA  | Monday, November 8 | 3pm PST

Panuchos with Chef Juan Chan of EK’BALAM | Monday, November 1

Dan Guerrero Happy Hour with Germaine Franco | October 30

Capturing Spaces & Moments with Rafael Cardenas, Photographer and Podcaster | Wednesday, October 27

Learn to Make Chirmole with Socorro and Dora Herrera of Yuca’s | Monday, October 25

Chicano Culture Sculptor with Ruben “Funkahuatl” Guevara, Musician, Singer-songwriter and Author | Friday, October 22

The Making of a Neon Rainbow with Tory DiPietro, Neon Artist and Al Nodal, Cultural Producer | October 20

Tostadas de Tinga de Carne Molida with Lilo Vargas, Huevona Life | October 18

History, Pride and Accomplishment: Highlights from Pobladores Awards 2021 | Wednesday, October 13

Dan Guerrero Happy Hour with Abel Valenzuela, Jr., Educator, Author & Lecturer | Friday, October 8

 

Pollo Rostizado en Adobo with Lesley Tellez, Food Journalist/Cookbook Author | Monday, October 4

Besos Pan Dulce with Eliceo Lara, Master Baker | Monday, September 27

 

Dream Along with Ruby Clouds | Friday, September 24

 

Urban Inspiration with Jose Ramirez, Artist, Educator & Gardener | Wednesday, September 22

 

Enchiladas de Queso with Claire Risoli, Pocha LA | September 20, 2021

 

Dan Guerrero Happy Hour with Blanca Valdez, Hollywood Casting Director | Friday, September 17

Summertime Salsas with Oscar Ochoa, El Machete | Monday, September 13

 

La Casa de Adobe: Stories and Songs from Alta California with Dr. Gloria Arjona, Lecturer, Entertainer and Author | Wednesday, September 8 

Tribal Latin Rock with Quetzalcoatl Band | Friday, September 3

East Los Streetscapers: Public Arts Pioneers with David Botello and Wayne Alaniz Healy | September 1

 

Creating During the COVID Crisis with Eastside Arts Initiative Grantees | August 25

 

Backstreet to the American Dream with Patricia Nazario, Journalist and Filmmaker | Wednesday, August 18 

Strawberry Horchata with Esteban Castillo, Chicano Eats  | Monday, August 16

 

Dan Guerrero Happy Hour with guest Enrique Castillo, Actor, Director and Writer | Friday, August 6

 

The Care of Succulents with Lupe Torres, Bloomcrushing | Wednesday, August 4

 

Salsa Luchadora with Samantha Martinez, Salsa Luchadora | Monday, August 2

 

Dan Guerrero Happy Hour with Abraham Quintanilla, Music Producer and Entrepreneur | Friday, July 30

 

The Struggle for NELA / La lucha por NELA with John Tapia Urquiza, Photographer/Instructor, Sin Turistas Collective | Wednesday, July 28

 

Stuffed Mexican Squash with Wendy Centeno, Guayaba Kitchen | Monday, July 26

 

Picturing Mexican America with Marissa López, Professor of English and Chicana/o Studies, UCLA | Wednesday, July 21

 

The Kitchen Philosopher: Sor Juana Ines de la Cruz with Maite Gómez-Rejón, ArtBites | Monday, July 19

 

The Art and Life of Carlos Almaraz: Documentary Panel Discussion | July 17

 

Shrimp Diablo Taco and a Cocktail with Bret Thompson Chef/Owner, Pez Cantina | Monday, July 12

 

East Side Spanish Guitar with Luis Villegas | Friday, July 9

 

Centro CSO: La Lucha Sigue | The Fight Continues | Wednesday, July 7 

 

Dan Guerrero Happy Hour with Judith F. Baca, Muralist, Educator, and Activist | Friday, July 2

 

Bridge-building With Joy, Playfulness and Power with Camila Camaleón and Xavier Mejia | Wednesday, June 30 

 

Cilantro Pesto and Pasta Salad with Wendy Centeno, Guayaba Kitchen | Monday, June 28

 

Música Tradicional Mexicana: Preserving, Teaching and Performing with Sergio “Checo” Alonso, Educator, Scholar and Multi-instrumentalist and Betto Arcos, Music Journalist and Author | Friday, June 25

 

Beyond Protection: The Future of Dreamers in the U.S. with Professor Armando Vasquez-Ramos, California-Mexico Studies Center, Inc.  Wednesday, June 23

 

Dan Guerrero Happy Hour with guest Julio Quintana, Award-winning filmmaker
Friday, June 18

 

Crisis – and Hope – at the Border with Priscilla Luna, Activist; Sofia Jeannette Gillespie, Immigration Attorney; and Casey Revkin, CFO, Every. Last. One. | Wednesday, June 16

 

Mexican American History Makers  with Edward James Olmos and Tery Lopez 
Tuesday, June 15

Chicken Enchilada Pie with Tirsa Farah, Tirsa’s Mexican Café | Monday, June 14

 

Learning from Lockdown with Anthony Islas, Holly Lynn Purser, and Denise M. Sandoval PhD | June 9, 2021

 

Nixtamal with Marlene Aguilar, IREKUARHIKUA | Monday, June 7

 

Dan Guerrero Happy Hour with guest Rudy Moreno | Friday, June 4

 

Visionary Rebel with Piero Giunti, Photographer and Video Director | Wednesday, June 2, 2021

 

Through the Dark with Yolanda Nava, Journalist, Author, and Inspirational Speaker | Thursday, May 27

 

The Founding of LA Plaza de Cultura y Artes: From Idea to Reality with Gloria Molina, Retired Los Angeles County Supervisor, First District & Miguel Santana, President & CEO, Weingart Foundation | Wednesday, May 26

 

Songs From Our Abuelos with Sara Quintanar, Music with Sara | Saturday, May 22

 

Dan Guerrero Happy Hour with Alicia Gaspar de Alba, Celebrated novelist, scholar and poet | Friday, May 21

Mole de Almendras | En Español | con Celia Florian, Cocinera Oaxaqueña | 17 de Mayo

 

Only Light Can Do That: Mental Well-being, Connection and Healing in Neon | Wednesday, May 12

 

Tacos de Jamaica with Jocelyn Ramirez, Todo Verde | Monday, May 10

 

Taco Campesino with Emiliano Marantes, Elemi  | Monday, May 3

 

El Cinco de Mayo: An American Tradition | El Cinco de Mayo: Una Tradición Norte Americana  | Saturday, May 1

 

Latin World Salsa Fund with Gabriel González, La Verdad | Friday, April 30

 

Frida Kahlo: Crossing Borderlines with Dr. Gloria Arjona, Educator and Arts Activist |
Wednesday, April 28

 

Lupita Infante: Honoring a Family Legacy, hosted by Betto Arcos, Music Journalist | Friday, April 23

 

Building Better Robots with Dr. Verónica Ahumada, UC Davis | Wednesday, April 21

Esquite in a Cup and Poblano Mayo with Chef Ricardo Pablo Vega, Moderno Cocina | April 19

 

Dan Guerrero Happy Hour with guests Evelina Fernandez and Jose Luis Valenzuela | Friday, April 16

 

Mexican American History Maker: Bel Hernandez, Latin Heat Media with Katia Miramontes, The Agency | Tuesday, April 13

 

Garibaldi Pan Dulce with Eliceo Lara, Baker Extraordinaire | Monday, April 12

 

Haus of Flamboyance with Victoria Valenzuela and Mel Loera w/special guest Sedusa Richman | Friday, April 9

 

Children’s Literature: Representation Matters with Naibe Reynoso, Con Todo Press | Wednesday, April 7

 

Chocolate de Agua y Champurrado | En Español con Carina Santiago y Salvador Cueva | Lunes, 5 de Abril

 

Dan Guerrero Happy Hour with guest Luis Valdez | Friday, April 2

 

Continuing César Chávez’s Life Work with Paul Chavez, President, Cesar Chavez Foundation | April 1

 

Images of César E. Chávez with Oscar Castillo, Photographer | Friday, March 26

 

Asian in LA: Prosperity and Adversity with Jeff Yang, Author and CNN Opinion Contributor | Wednesday, March 24

 

Sopes de Chorizo y Gaby Rosé | En Español con Chef Gabriela Melchum, Hacienda Guadalupe | March 22

 

Dan Guerrero Happy Hour with Guest Perla Batalla | Friday, March 19

 

Tres Souls: Boleros Relived | Wednesday, March 17

 

Mexico’s First Female Cookbook Author with Maite Gómez-Rejón, ArtBites | Monday, March 15

 

What’s So Funny? Comedy During Quarantine | Kim Congdon, Vanessa Gonzalez, and Danny Vega. Moderated by Big Brown Dad | Carlos Aguilar | Friday, March 12

 

18th & Grand: The Olympic Auditorium Story with Steve DeBro and Gene Aguilera | March 10

 

Dan Guerrero Happy Hour with guest Oscar Quintero/Kay Sedia  | Friday, March 5

 

Spirals of Time with Maritza Alvarez and Claudia Mercado of Mujeres de Maiz | Wednesday, March 4

Cauliflower Mango Ceviche and Vegan Michelada with Maribel Gomez, Vegan Xicana | Monday, March 1

 

Afro-Peruvian Culture in Los Angeles with Nadia Calmet, Educator and Choreographer | Wednesday, February 24

Aguachile Verde de Camarón (En Español) con Chef Luis Cardenas, La Medina Cocina Abierta | Lunes, 22 de Febrero

 

Dan Guerrero Happy Hour with Josefina Lopez | Friday, February 19

 

Redlining: Housing Inequality in L.A. with Lawrence Ross, Author, Lecturer, Writer | Wednesday, February 17

 

Mexican-American History Makers w/Gilbert R. Vasquez, Luis A. Fernandez and Jose-Luis Ruiz | February 12, 2021

 

LA’s Salsa Scene with Guido Herrera-Yance, Yambu Productions | Friday, February 12

 

Art & Culture During COVID w Kathy Gallegos, Avenue 50 Studio & Michael Centeno, Tía Chucha’s | February 10

 

Beer Battered Mushroom Tacos with Wendy Centeno, Guayaba Kitchen | Monday, February 8

 

Dan Guerrero Happy Hour with guest Cheech Marin | Friday, February 5

 

Southern California’s Native American Peoples with John P. Schmal, Historian, Genealogist, and Lecturer  | Wednesday, February 3

 

Sopa de Turkey Albondigas with Claire Risoli, Pocha LA | Monday, February 1

 

Show Your Creativity! Performing Arts | Eastside Arts Initiative COVID19 Grants Recipients | Friday, January 29, 2021

 

Show Your Creativity! The Visual Arts | Eastside Arts Initiative COVID-19 Grant Recipients | Wednesday, January 27, 2021

 

Coffee and Cold Brew with Juan and Joel Espinoza, Cafe Cafe Mobile Coffee | Monday, January 25, 2021

 

Dan Guerrero Happy Hour with Eduardo Diaz, Director of the Smithsonian Latino Center | Friday, January 22, 2021

Political Shift: The Long Road to the Inauguration | Wednesday, January 20, 2021

 

Music Stories from the Cosmic Barrio with Betto Arcos, Author and Journalist | Friday, January 15, 2021

 

LA Plaza Tienda: From Bricks & Mortar to Online Store  | Wednesday, January 13, 2021

Tacos de Suadero with Jonathan Perez, Macheen | January 11, 2021
Dan Guerrero Happy Hour with guest Charo | January 8, 2021

LA Plaza Cocina: What’s On the Menu with Ximena Martin, LA Plaza Director of Programs & Culinary Arts | January 4, 2021

 

 

Copyright © 2021 LA Plaza de Cultura y Artes - All Rights Reserved